SoCalMtB.com Mountain Bike Trails, Local Bike Shops, Bicycle Clubs
Sycamore Canyon - Poway/Santee Trailhead - Thursday, February 26, 2015
Sycamore Canyon - Poway/Santee - San Diego County
From the South
1) Take MISSION GORGE RD to CARLTON HILLS BLVD. NORTH on CARLTON HILLS to LAKE CANYON. LEFT on LAKE CANYON. RIGHT (north) on SETTLE to the last block, then LEFT (west) to STRATHMORE. RIGHT on STRATHMORE to BIRCHCREST. LEFT on BIRCHCREST to the dead end. This is a quiet residential neighborhood..SHHH! At the west end of Birchcrest is a locked gate. (the hole is at the left end of the fence. The developer says keep out, but mountain bikers are usually not bothered by the owner or the sheriff. Motorcycles or 4X4's will be asked to leave. Go north for apprx 5 miles to Poway. Trail signs are at each intersection. At Poway Trailhead, try going east to Martha's Grove for great downhill singletrack action!! Martha's trail leads back south in a loop to the main trail. TAKE WATER! + please respect the quiet neighborhood at the south end so the hole in the fence stays open. I double checked it 6/1/97. The trail's still open and a good ride for any skill level. Thomas Guide page 1231 A3
2) Take 52 to Mast Bl. in Santee and turn left. You will see a school on the right and hills on the left. The trail is on the left just before the first house, and just after the school parking. The trail begins just behind a white barricade Thomas Guide page 1231 A5
From the North. Exit Poway Rd. off the I 15 Frwy. Take Poway Road East to Garden Road. Follow Garden hang a right on Sycamore Canyon Rd. Follow this road to the end. (Turns into a dirt road for the last mile or so). The Gibbens Ranch gates opens at 8:00am. Thomas Guide page 1191 C7
GPS: Latitude: Longitude: Elevation:
Rating , Novice, Intermediate, Advanced TOPO! tpo files MapQuest Link Yahoo Weather Link E-mail this Trailhead to a friend On-line Topo of this Trailhead
41 Updates0 Trails0 Stories0 Photos
Trail Conditions
#41
83445 - I'm self-employed buy erectalis "We cannot have the situation where our high streets become fair game for groups of young people, who can put a bit of money aside on the assumption that they'll get a penalty notice and go on to commit all sorts of anti-social behaviour regardless of the consequences.
take ibuprofen The United States, Britain and Russia still have stricttravel warnings. However, Maya Lomidze, executive director ofthe Association of Tourism Operators of Russia, told Reutersthat tens of thousands are ready to visit their favouritedestination, Hurghada, immediately if Moscow eases its warning.

Bobby a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a NyAleiYA from NY
Posted on 02/11/15 Alert moderators of this post
#40
57318 - I'm on work experience where to buy tetracycline antibiotics Last July, JPMorgan clinched a deal that would make it the11th largest U.S. oil importer: a three-year contract to supplycrude and sell products from the 330,000 barrel per day inPhiladelphia, the biggest on the U.S. East Coast. It was part ofa wide-ranging financing deal that helped Carlyle Group buy the plant, saving it from closure.
megalis 10 Arusi said Libya was reviewing the terms for existingforeign investors in its energy sector as well as drawing upmore attractive terms for its next licensing round, which hesaid should be launched in the first half of next year.

Adolph a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a NyAleiYA from NY
Posted on 02/11/15 Alert moderators of this post
#39
9351 - Who's calling? order tetracycline from mexico But as Syria's conflict takes on an increasingly sectarian dimension, a growing number of those fleeing to Turkey are shunning the refugee camps on its southern border and venturing instead to its major cities, as far from the war as possible.
megalis 20mg I logged on to HealthCare.gov to shop for health insurance in North Carolina, since my family has fantasized about moving from Los Angeles to Chapel Hill. The website quickly sent me a personalized email link to start the process, but my online application completely froze about 15 minutes later.

Clair a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a NyAleiYA from NY
Posted on 02/11/15 Alert moderators of this post
#38
42973 - Free medical insurance cheap suprax "Yeah, that's real phraseology and that's used in aircraft operations also," Chiao says. "You call 'in the blind' if you're not receiving them, but you think they might be receiving you. You're basically letting them know that you're not able to hear them."
doxycycline costco price Al Qaeda militants have been quick to exploit sectariantensions in Iraq, the power vacuum in Yemen and civil war inSyria. They have yet to play a significant role in Egypt, thoughthe Egyptian Foreign Ministry, as part of a push to disseminatethe state's narrative of events, has distributed photos showing,among other things, Muslim Brotherhood members carrying clubs,firearms and a black al Qaeda flag.

Herman a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a NyAleiYA from NY
Posted on 02/11/15 Alert moderators of this post
#37
8667 - Yes, I love it! tetracycline 250 mg tablets The BBC's Will Grant in Mexico says some people are now calling for an investigation into safety measures at events like this and are asking how the audience could be placed so close to trucks performing stunts with only limited barriers in place.
suprax cefixime A report on the changing face of British households found that although two thirds of homes still have a separate dining room, despite the fashion for knocking walls through, they are being pressed into use less and less.

Ernie a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a NyAleiYA from NY
Posted on 02/11/15 Alert moderators of this post
#36
76165 - Is this a temporary or permanent position? order lotensin Gao Xinhong, a Shanghai student who became a minor local celebrity after getting the highest marks in this year's "gaokao" university entrance exams, said the city's schooling system was becoming more flexible.

Santiago a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a jRNgXPENJbtAVsr from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#35
815364 - I'm doing a masters in law buy cheap digoxin If the Affordable Care Act -- which is designed to ensure that all Americans have affordable health coverage -- works as intended, fewer Americans should need to put off getting necessary medical treatment because of cost. This could positively affect individuals' personal health situations and workplace productivity. At the same time, the possible uptick in the number of Americans seeking medical treatment may put additional strain on the healthcare system, creating new problems.

Roger a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a jRNgXPENJbtAVsr from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#34
489022 - Who would I report to? buy lisinopril without prescribition For all its comforting qualities Kim is not entirely without darkness. Towards the end of the book, buckling under the burdens of responsibility, the teenaged hero suffers one of the most convincingly drawn nervous breakdowns in English literature. But this is actually where you'll find the greatest solace of all, for in the world of Kim when a collapse comes there will always be a clean white room in a rambling farmhouse to rest in, a mighty matriarch with silver bangles and a sharp tongue to nurse you better, and friends ready to cross half a continent to check on your recovery.

Simon a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a jRNgXPENJbtAVsr from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#33
515703 - Which university are you at? lisinopril 20 mg. looks like “The package of measures I have described today will contribute to a constructive evolution of the housing market,” Carney said. “By reinforcing financial stability, they further reinforce the MPC’s ability to provide exceptional monetary stimulus to the entire U.K. economy for as long as it deems appropriate.”

Broderick a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a jRNgXPENJbtAVsr from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#32
1484 - The National Gallery tenormin 25 mg price Athens must reform and shrink its civil service to receivemore bailout funds from foreign lenders but the latest plan ofjob cuts has sparked uproar among Greeks struggling with anunemployment rate of nearly 27 percent.
order atarax online “I thought it was such an uplifting and awesome picture because it showed just how laid back and awesome she was,” Moore wrote Wednesday. “Might not mean much to anyone else, I just thought I would share.”

Kimberly a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a qieuAhkxNGdssaAnJ from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#31
9724 - I'd like to speak to someone about a mortgage cipralex results This route was laid without any level crossings to the Berne loading gauge, so it can already accommodate trains from the continent. The track bed is still largely in existence and crying out to be relaid. Some diversions would be required but the cost would be minimal compared with HS2.
tenormin 25 mg effets secondaires The wide-scale embassy closings may also reflect that the U.S. diplomatic corps and State Department have less tolerance for uncertainty, analysts said. U.S. Ambassador to Libya Chris Stevens and three other Americans died in an attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya, on Sept. 11.

Johnathon a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a qieuAhkxNGdssaAnJ from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#30
5268 - One moment, please order indomethacin "But it has to be an economically viable business, bringing tourist trade to the small businesses on the island and carry on being what George Bullough built all those year ago, but brought into the 21st century."
buy ivermectin for scabies The company said Thursday its net profit grew 10 percent in the second quarter despite an economic slowdown in Asia. Most of SAP's revenue still comes from selling and maintaining software that runs on companies' own computers. But it has been making a major push into cloud computing — in which software runs on SAP servers and companies pay subscription fees to use it via the Internet.

Nolan a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a qieuAhkxNGdssaAnJ from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#29
5422 - I like it a lot order trimethoprim The gunman did not immediately indicate a motive, Alexander said, adding that he did not know whether the man had a connection to anyone at the school. Police SWAT teams cleared the building room by room, he said, and police eventually accounted for every student.
medicamento cipralex precio In a separate incident, a fire on an Ethiopia Airlines Dreamliner, which were developed by US company Boeing, brought chaos to Heathrow on Friday. The jet was parked at the time of the incident and nobody was hurt, although the blaze did spark extensive delays after the airport’s runways were closed for an hour and a half.

Katherine a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a qieuAhkxNGdssaAnJ from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#28
26712 - This site is crazy :) bactrim ds price And while it appears as if Sebastian Vettel’s march to a fourth consecutive world title is unstoppable (he qualified on pole again), that does not mean we are left without some intriguing storylines for this morning’s race.
indomethacin price sigma Amazon did not immediately respond to a request for comment about the report. The trial reportedly took place near Amazon's Cupertino-based Lab 126 research facilities, where its Kindle devices are designed.

Keven a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a qieuAhkxNGdssaAnJ from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#27
534238 - Not available at the moment order metformin online Dr. Roth and her team plan to breed the Cincinnati Zoo’s lone Sumatran rhino, a 9-year-old named Suci, with her six-year-old brother Harapan. Harapan, who was born in Cincinnati, is currently residing at the Los Angeles Zoo. He will be shipped back in an attempt to get the pair to mate and possibly save the species, though Dr. Roth says that may prove difficult.
ciproxin 750 mg nedir "I don't mean (that they should) get on "Dancing With the Stars," but maybe they'll just get off the couch or maybe they'll enjoy the garden instead of crying or being so depressed about losing their life in such a mean way."

Anibal a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a HjjvBftyEwRzgR from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#26
4682 - I'll put her on voltaren gel prices "It became glaringly obvious that someone needed to providea path to ownership for these systems. It's not a $40,000 or$50,000 expense anymore," said Jim Petersen, founder of Fremont,California-based PetersenDean, one of the biggest U.S.installers. "And why would you give up your tax credit? Anybodythat has a job has a tax appetite."
glycomet 1gm Talk about misplaced outrage. It’s things like this that make me not want to read the paper anymore. This isn’t journalism. This isn’t seeking good stories for the sake of justice and social equality. This is smut, as detached as possible from the real world. Society needs to wake up and stop buying this crap from the media.

Megan a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a HjjvBftyEwRzgR from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#25
9824 - Do you know each other? purchase celexa And what the survey found is an alarming amount of 'selfish egos', with 70 per cent admitting they would still recline when sat in front of a pregnant woman, and 80 per cent saying they wouldn't care if the person behind was elderly or frail.
lamotrigine 200 At the Ucas call-centre in Cheltenham, the questions from students seeking guidance and reassurance have been coming thick and fast from early in the morning. Staff were answering queries on Twitter and Facebook from 0600.

Leah a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a HjjvBftyEwRzgR from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#24
7101 - Have you read any good books lately? ciprobay 750 mg The British Columbia Coroners Service said in a release thatpost-mortem testing on the star, who was found dead on Saturdayin a downtown Vancouver hotel room, died of "a mixed-drugtoxicity involving heroin and alcohol." It said Monteith's deathwas unlikely to have been intentional.
gabapentin cost walgreens Tankel said she initially reported the threatening calls to the the Seminole County Sheriff's Office, but was told to follow up with law enforcement in Orange County, Fla., where she lives, to file a report, she said.

Clair a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Racer riding a HjjvBftyEwRzgR from NY
Posted on 02/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#23
Santee Lakes to Sycamore Canyon - I call this section Santee Lakes or East Elliot. Begin at Mast Blvd. parking lot by the ball field just past the high school.
We've had a lot of rain lately so there are quite a few mud holes and the stream is flowing pretty good but less than a foot deep at crossings. Really green right now. There is a new trail that adds some climbing to this ride and will add about a half hour to your ride. Just after you go under the power lines and cross the wash, turn left as if you were heading up the steep fire road. 50 meters in, turn left on the singletrack that will follow the west side of the ridge. Soon the trail starts to switchback up to the top of the ridge and places you back on the fireroad. Continue up(north) and catch the well marked single track on the right. It loops around a peak to the road then immediately heads off to the right for some great downhill singletrack with a lot of tight hairpins. Follow this back down to the canyon trail that follows and crosses the stream.
a 46 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Yeti 575
Posted on 03/01/08Alert moderators of this post
#22
Restricted - Those signs are only for people to stay away from the powerline towners.

This ride is really getting nice and growing in after the Cedar fire did a number on the area a few years back.

Teh ride up to the and past the Lakes is fun and open, the ride then goes into nice single track (keep and eye out for a right turn off teh fire road to aviod a sandy fire road section and enter fun single track)

All the way up to the Poway side and down thru Martha's grove trail is a bit dry but in great shape.
protijy a 28 year old Downhiller riding a Indy Fab Beatsick from San Diego URL: Protijy
Posted on 08/02/07Alert moderators of this post


#21
Sycamore/Santee entrance - I noticed a "Restricted Access" sign at the trailhead of the Santee entrance (Medina). I haven't seen any official notice from SDMBA or anywhere online. Does anyone know the official status on this side of the trail. Is the Poway entrance still open? How far down can you go?
Mostro a Cross-Country Rider riding a Giant NRS from San Diego
Posted on 02/28/07Alert moderators of this post
#20
Riverbed Ride - As of 01/15/05 the southern entrance of the park is closed until it dries out.

I've never used the Medina access and didn't know what to expect. I'm sure it used to be great, but this time it was *very*, *very*, muddy and wet. I had to wade across the creek at least 4 times :) Long stretches of the trail, if you can see it, are along sandy creek deposits. Everything was green and growing like crazy.

But it was still fun, got completely soaked and coated with mud, and I think I put a years worth of wear on my chain. But when I got back the jeep, I was tired but smiling.

Look forward to doing it again after it drys out and the trail gets smoother. I ride with one arm so the round cobbles on the trail make it hard for me.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: ??? Elevation change: Small
Singletrack=100%
Pegmatite a 41 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Specialized FSR Comp from Solana Beach E-mail:this user
Posted on 01/20/05Alert moderators of this post


#19
Sycamore Canyon - Rode the canyon this moring it's still a blast. Rode from WH high school parking lot to the top and back. Makes it about 16 miles but I could tell today, because I lost my bike computer along the way. So if you find it let me know and maybe we will meet on the trail some day and I can get it back. The trail maintenance crews who did the work on the trails to get them reopened did an outstanding job it's very much appreceated. The Midnight Riders thank you.
Ride rating: Novice
Ride distance: 16miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=70% Dirt Road=10% Truck Trail=20%
Smokin Scott a 42 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Specialized Enduro from El Cajon E-mail:this user
Posted on 12/11/04Alert moderators of this post
#18
One Sweet Ride!!! - I've ridden here a hundred times or more but for some reason last Sunday was the best!!!

Started out from West Hills HS instead of bothering the residents on Medina. The trail going into the canyon is pretty much as it always is until you get by the upper Santee Lakes where you can see water running through the stream that runs through the canyon. I haven't seen water in that stream in years.

Everything is so green and the wild flowers are in full bloom. Once I got past the Lakes and into the canyon the stream crossings begin. The trail and the stream cross each other eight or ten times. I actually wasn't counting cause I was having too much fun getting wet.

Passed the old ranch house, took the trail on the west side of the valley, then climbed up the road to the parking area at the end of Sycamore Canyon Road. By now I'm dried off and so is my chain. I lost all lubrication about three stream crossings ago and left the emergency supply at home. Lesson Learned!!

Most people turn around there but I climbed up the trail leading to Hwy 67. Took a short break. Looking down I thought to myself "I know I'm having a better time than the poor people in their cars crawling along the highway."

From there it's all a nice steady down hill cruise back to the parking lot and Martha's Grove trail head. This has always been one of my favorite trails around and on this ride it seemed to be more fun than any other time. After the short climb at the beginning of Martha's, (my chain is screaming at me now), comes one of the sweetest singletrack downhill rides there is. Once you drop into the trees it flattens out a little but twists, turns and a few roller coaster sections keep the fun meter pegged.

Right where the trail comes out by the old windmill I almost ran right over a 3 1/2 foot Rattlesnake who was taking his sweet time crossing the trail. Where's my camera when I need it? Back at the house with my chain lube, where else?!

Well when I started crossing the stream on my way back out of the canyon the chain stopped cussing at me as long as it stayed wet. I'm sure it's going to need a lot of attention to get back to a ridable condition. 20 miles clicked over as I got back to my truck and was sorry the ride was over. That was a great ride. I can't wait till next weekend when I'll have time to do it again!!

Ed, hurry up and kick some ass over there so you can come back home and ride!!


Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 20 sweeeet miles. Elevation change: Not Much
Singletrack=35% Dirt Road=65%
Sailor a 40 year old Weekend Warrior riding a GT LTS from San Diego
Posted on 03/25/03Alert moderators of this post


#17
Sycamore SplishSplash - The trail is firm, but now that the ground is saturated, the low
spots and old streams are now full. Some up to 12 inches
deep. Whoa. real fun....too fun. Only the first 200 yards off
Medina is the ground a quagmire. The area is VERY green &
wild flowers are abundant. This is ripe time for a ride!


Ride rating: Novice
Ride distance: 14 miles Elevation change: ???
Singletrack=100%
mtbchip a 45 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a an olde fashioned urt bike. YA-WHOO from San Diego E-mail:this user
Posted on 03/21/03Alert moderators of this post


Next Page
Content-type: text/html