SoCalMtB.com Mountain Bike Trails, Local Bike Shops, Bicycle Clubs
InCycle San Dimas Chino Pasadena
Sycamore Canyon - Poway/Santee Trailhead - Sunday, January 25, 2015
Sycamore Canyon - Poway/Santee - San Diego County
From the South
1) Take MISSION GORGE RD to CARLTON HILLS BLVD. NORTH on CARLTON HILLS to LAKE CANYON. LEFT on LAKE CANYON. RIGHT (north) on SETTLE to the last block, then LEFT (west) to STRATHMORE. RIGHT on STRATHMORE to BIRCHCREST. LEFT on BIRCHCREST to the dead end. This is a quiet residential neighborhood..SHHH! At the west end of Birchcrest is a locked gate. (the hole is at the left end of the fence. The developer says keep out, but mountain bikers are usually not bothered by the owner or the sheriff. Motorcycles or 4X4's will be asked to leave. Go north for apprx 5 miles to Poway. Trail signs are at each intersection. At Poway Trailhead, try going east to Martha's Grove for great downhill singletrack action!! Martha's trail leads back south in a loop to the main trail. TAKE WATER! + please respect the quiet neighborhood at the south end so the hole in the fence stays open. I double checked it 6/1/97. The trail's still open and a good ride for any skill level. Thomas Guide page 1231 A3
2) Take 52 to Mast Bl. in Santee and turn left. You will see a school on the right and hills on the left. The trail is on the left just before the first house, and just after the school parking. The trail begins just behind a white barricade Thomas Guide page 1231 A5
From the North. Exit Poway Rd. off the I 15 Frwy. Take Poway Road East to Garden Road. Follow Garden hang a right on Sycamore Canyon Rd. Follow this road to the end. (Turns into a dirt road for the last mile or so). The Gibbens Ranch gates opens at 8:00am. Thomas Guide page 1191 C7
GPS: Latitude: Longitude: Elevation:
Rating , Novice, Intermediate, Advanced TOPO! tpo files MapQuest Link Yahoo Weather Link E-mail this Trailhead to a friend On-line Topo of this Trailhead
38 Updates2 Trails0 Stories0 Photos
Trail Conditions
#38
389533 - I'll send you a text excavator brooch write essay on my family gentle flee But when your nippers (aged nine and 11) are still awake at 2am because of the pounding, ground-shaking vibration emanating from the “Disco Shed” (which could teach Guantanamo a thing or two about sleep-deprivation techniques), you start to think – “Unto what hell have I brought them?” Bad Dad.

Infest a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Cross-Country Rider riding a EhfJMruxhjYSArlKpFp from NY E-mail:this user URL: Infest
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#37
93738 - I'd like to order some foreign currency housework fuse college essays service kings Keurig Single Cup Home Brewing System, $103.95 on AmazonWe know this will make someone yell at us, but we're just going to say it: these things make the worst effing coffee ever. We have never tasted a single pod-cup that compared to a French press cup.

Terrence a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Cross-Country Rider riding a EhfJMruxhjYSArlKpFp from NY E-mail:this user URL: Terrence
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#36
30385 - Will I have to work on Saturdays? colorful personal essay help detected DCI Griffin urged anyone with information to come forward, saying: “While we await the results I would like to appeal to anyone who knows what happened to William or Patricia, after they disappeared from their home in Forest Town in 1998, to call police.”

Thurman a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Cross-Country Rider riding a EhfJMruxhjYSArlKpFp from NY E-mail:this user URL: Thurman
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#35
368278 - In tens, please (ten pound notes) cakes i need someone to write my paper sixth request Artemis skipper Iain Percy described getting back on the boat and into the race as bittersweet. Simpson and Percy had been friends since they were 10 years old, and went through Britain's youth sailing program and then on the Olympics together.

Randolph a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Cross-Country Rider riding a EhfJMruxhjYSArlKpFp from NY URL: Randolph
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#34
7721 - About a year mba essay editing india When asked on Monday what Kidd will say to students when he does appear at these schools, Burke said that the talk will be about drinking and driving with kids who either have their driver’s licenses or are about to have them, about how “it doesn’t matter who you are or what you’ve done in your life, in basketball or anything else, that alcohol impairs everybody.”

Duane a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a atkYUlFZEvdsJKJJBzt from NY E-mail:this user URL: Duane
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#33
9740 - Is it convenient to talk at the moment? ghostwrite In a search warrant affidavit unsealed this week, federal investigators allege that videos show the Walkers selling food and alcohol at some of the 10 cockfighting derbies attended by confidential informants between January 2012 and May 2013. The cockfights were allegedly held on a ranch in Irrigon, Oregon, where the couple lived.

Moises a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a atkYUlFZEvdsJKJJBzt from NY E-mail:this user URL: Moises
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#32
51843 - This is your employment contract essay writers net The Vanguard Health Care ETF invests in an index ofthese stocks, holding major companies such as Johnson & Johnson, Gilead Sciences Inc and insurer UnitedHealthGroup Inc. The fund is up nearly 30 percent throughSept. 27 and charges 0.14 percent annually for expenses.

Peyton a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a atkYUlFZEvdsJKJJBzt from NY E-mail:this user URL: Peyton
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#31
8548 - It's funny goodluck where can i find research papers online Look at our own Civil War. The South felt they were suffering the tyranny of the North and they seceded. Not only that but they fired on the American flag. But there war was lost before it began because the Federal government had so many more resources and could deploy those resources in over-whelming numbers. The last best of hope of the South was foreign intervention and when the French and the English turned their backs on them they were doomed. That was in 1862.

Emmett a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a atkYUlFZEvdsJKJJBzt from NY E-mail:this user URL: Emmett
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#30
1653 - Lost credit card writing essay papers The ceremony capped a day of transition which started when Philippe's father, the 79-year-old Albert, signed away his rights as the kingdom's largely ceremonial ruler at the royal palace in the presence of Prime Minister Elio Di Rupo, who holds the political power in this 183-year-old parliamentary democracy.

Korey a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a atkYUlFZEvdsJKJJBzt from NY URL: Korey
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#29
386183 - I'd like to cancel this standing order geld online machen
Eli a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a wsfCoErIueFuH from NY E-mail:this user URL: Eli
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#28
92478 - Thanks funny site verdienen internet
Chris a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a wsfCoErIueFuH from NY E-mail:this user URL: Chris
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#27
67578 - Have you got any qualifications? online geld verdienen mit spielen
Crazyivan a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a wsfCoErIueFuH from NY E-mail:this user URL: Crazyivan
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#26
27497 - I was made redundant two months ago schnell 400 euro verdienen
Zachariah a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a wsfCoErIueFuH from NY E-mail:this user URL: Zachariah
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#25
10876 - I'd like , please pozyczka bez bik
Carey a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Downhiller riding a wsfCoErIueFuH from NY E-mail:this user URL: Carey
Posted on 01/12/15 Alert moderators of this post
#24
7404 - gDpWSE http://www.QS3PE5ZGdxC9IoVKTAPT2DBYpPkMKqfz.com
gordon a 2rand[0,1,1] year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a sQvDYubIVJu from NY E-mail:this user URL: gordon
Posted on 01/07/15 Alert moderators of this post
#23
Santee Lakes to Sycamore Canyon - I call this section Santee Lakes or East Elliot. Begin at Mast Blvd. parking lot by the ball field just past the high school.
We've had a lot of rain lately so there are quite a few mud holes and the stream is flowing pretty good but less than a foot deep at crossings. Really green right now. There is a new trail that adds some climbing to this ride and will add about a half hour to your ride. Just after you go under the power lines and cross the wash, turn left as if you were heading up the steep fire road. 50 meters in, turn left on the singletrack that will follow the west side of the ridge. Soon the trail starts to switchback up to the top of the ridge and places you back on the fireroad. Continue up(north) and catch the well marked single track on the right. It loops around a peak to the road then immediately heads off to the right for some great downhill singletrack with a lot of tight hairpins. Follow this back down to the canyon trail that follows and crosses the stream.
a 46 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Yeti 575
Posted on 03/01/08 Alert moderators of this post
#22
Restricted - Those signs are only for people to stay away from the powerline towners.

This ride is really getting nice and growing in after the Cedar fire did a number on the area a few years back.

Teh ride up to the and past the Lakes is fun and open, the ride then goes into nice single track (keep and eye out for a right turn off teh fire road to aviod a sandy fire road section and enter fun single track)

All the way up to the Poway side and down thru Martha's grove trail is a bit dry but in great shape.
protijy a 28 year old Downhiller riding a Indy Fab Beatsick from San Diego URL: Protijy
Posted on 08/02/07 Alert moderators of this post


#21
Sycamore/Santee entrance - I noticed a "Restricted Access" sign at the trailhead of the Santee entrance (Medina). I haven't seen any official notice from SDMBA or anywhere online. Does anyone know the official status on this side of the trail. Is the Poway entrance still open? How far down can you go?
Mostro a Cross-Country Rider riding a Giant NRS from San Diego
Posted on 02/28/07Alert moderators of this post
#20
Riverbed Ride - As of 01/15/05 the southern entrance of the park is closed until it dries out.

I've never used the Medina access and didn't know what to expect. I'm sure it used to be great, but this time it was *very*, *very*, muddy and wet. I had to wade across the creek at least 4 times :) Long stretches of the trail, if you can see it, are along sandy creek deposits. Everything was green and growing like crazy.

But it was still fun, got completely soaked and coated with mud, and I think I put a years worth of wear on my chain. But when I got back the jeep, I was tired but smiling.

Look forward to doing it again after it drys out and the trail gets smoother. I ride with one arm so the round cobbles on the trail make it hard for me.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: ??? Elevation change: Small
Singletrack=100%
Pegmatite a 41 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Specialized FSR Comp from Solana Beach E-mail:this user
Posted on 01/20/05Alert moderators of this post


#19
Sycamore Canyon - Rode the canyon this moring it's still a blast. Rode from WH high school parking lot to the top and back. Makes it about 16 miles but I could tell today, because I lost my bike computer along the way. So if you find it let me know and maybe we will meet on the trail some day and I can get it back. The trail maintenance crews who did the work on the trails to get them reopened did an outstanding job it's very much appreceated. The Midnight Riders thank you.
Ride rating: Novice
Ride distance: 16miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=70% Dirt Road=10% Truck Trail=20%
Smokin Scott a 42 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Specialized Enduro from El Cajon E-mail:this user
Posted on 12/11/04Alert moderators of this post
#18
One Sweet Ride!!! - I've ridden here a hundred times or more but for some reason last Sunday was the best!!!

Started out from West Hills HS instead of bothering the residents on Medina. The trail going into the canyon is pretty much as it always is until you get by the upper Santee Lakes where you can see water running through the stream that runs through the canyon. I haven't seen water in that stream in years.

Everything is so green and the wild flowers are in full bloom. Once I got past the Lakes and into the canyon the stream crossings begin. The trail and the stream cross each other eight or ten times. I actually wasn't counting cause I was having too much fun getting wet.

Passed the old ranch house, took the trail on the west side of the valley, then climbed up the road to the parking area at the end of Sycamore Canyon Road. By now I'm dried off and so is my chain. I lost all lubrication about three stream crossings ago and left the emergency supply at home. Lesson Learned!!

Most people turn around there but I climbed up the trail leading to Hwy 67. Took a short break. Looking down I thought to myself "I know I'm having a better time than the poor people in their cars crawling along the highway."

From there it's all a nice steady down hill cruise back to the parking lot and Martha's Grove trail head. This has always been one of my favorite trails around and on this ride it seemed to be more fun than any other time. After the short climb at the beginning of Martha's, (my chain is screaming at me now), comes one of the sweetest singletrack downhill rides there is. Once you drop into the trees it flattens out a little but twists, turns and a few roller coaster sections keep the fun meter pegged.

Right where the trail comes out by the old windmill I almost ran right over a 3 1/2 foot Rattlesnake who was taking his sweet time crossing the trail. Where's my camera when I need it? Back at the house with my chain lube, where else?!

Well when I started crossing the stream on my way back out of the canyon the chain stopped cussing at me as long as it stayed wet. I'm sure it's going to need a lot of attention to get back to a ridable condition. 20 miles clicked over as I got back to my truck and was sorry the ride was over. That was a great ride. I can't wait till next weekend when I'll have time to do it again!!

Ed, hurry up and kick some ass over there so you can come back home and ride!!


Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 20 sweeeet miles. Elevation change: Not Much
Singletrack=35% Dirt Road=65%
Sailor a 40 year old Weekend Warrior riding a GT LTS from San Diego
Posted on 03/25/03Alert moderators of this post


#17
Sycamore SplishSplash - The trail is firm, but now that the ground is saturated, the low
spots and old streams are now full. Some up to 12 inches
deep. Whoa. real fun....too fun. Only the first 200 yards off
Medina is the ground a quagmire. The area is VERY green &
wild flowers are abundant. This is ripe time for a ride!


Ride rating: Novice
Ride distance: 14 miles Elevation change: ???
Singletrack=100%
mtbchip a 45 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a an olde fashioned urt bike. YA-WHOO from San Diego E-mail:this user
Posted on 03/21/03Alert moderators of this post


#16
Martha's Grove - This is a pretty easy but good ride. Once you get to the top there's a pretty good downhill. Overall good trail to ride.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Singletrack=50% Dirt Road=100%
Clinton Popp a 21 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Specialized from El Cajon
Posted on 12/08/02 Alert moderators of this post
#15
Sycamore Canyon/Martha's Grove - Couldn't ask for a better day. Just enough rain yesterday to eliminate the dust and create a few water holes. Traction was better than it's been all summer.

Started the ride at West Hills High School and rode into the valley on the dirt road just south of Santee Lakes. Past the lakes and into the canyon I came across a couple deer. What a sight!! Keeping to the south side of the canyon past the old barn and ranch house is the best ride through this part of the canyon. Then climb the road up to the parking lot and Martha's Grove trail head.

The upper part of Martha's Grove trail has been loose and rutted all summer, especialy on the down hill parts where some riders skid down the hill instead of feathering their brakes. Today the loose stuff was gone and I cleaned the entire trail, even the steep drop over the rocks. Martha's is one of the sweetest single tracks around. It's just too bad it isn't longer.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 17 miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=50% Dirt Road=50%
Rick a 40 year old Weekend Warrior riding a GT LTS from San Diego E-mail:this user
Posted on 09/07/02 Alert moderators of this post


#14
Sycamore Canyon - Rode this trail Saturday 6/8/02. From the south take the 125 North to 52 West and exit at Mast Blvd. Go right (east) on Mast to Medina. Turn left on Medina and go all the way to the end of the street. Park on the left in the residential area. The trail starts here. Follow the single track North for about 5 miles to the Ranch House. At the Ranch House continue north up the dirt road to the Martha's Grove parking lot. Then take the sigle track on out of the parking lot up and to the east. This is a great technical trail that you are sure to love. The trail ends back at the dirt road near the Ranch House. For a little extra single track from this point take the single track trail in front of you. This trail has a small climb and a pretty good downhill and will dump you out on the trail back the the car. Happy Trails
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 14 Elevation change: 200
Singletrack=75% Dirt Road=25%
Jim Stanley a 41 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Tomac Ti from Spring Valley E-mail:this user
Posted on 06/10/02 Alert moderators of this post
Next Page
Content-type: text/html