SoCalMtB.com Mountain Bike Trails, Local Bike Shops, Bicycle Clubs
InCycle San Dimas Chino Pasadena
Santa Ana River Trail - Angelus Oaks Trailhead - Friday, August 29, 2014
Santa Ana River Trail - Angelus Oaks - San Bernardino County
There are many ways to get to Highway 38, so that part is up to you. But, once you get to Highway 38, stop at the Mill creek Ranger sttion to get your Adventure Pass. They do patrol this are HEAVILY ($100 fine for not having it). Go up Hwy 38 about 8 miles. You will come to the town of Angelus Oaks. Park anywhere around the store and post office that is there, or go farther up HWY 38 and there is a rather large turnout where the majority of the riders park. If you do park here, you must ride back to the store if you want the trail I am describing with some ULTIMATE Single-track. Right by the post office their is a dirt road that heads off into the hills. Ride your bike up the dirt road, within a about two hundred yards you will hit the first part of the trail but if you go up the road another 2 miles you will come to more parts of the trail. You can go all the way to mentone on this trail. Thomas Guide page 55-57
GPS: Latitude: Longitude: Elevation:
Rating , Novice, Intermediate, Advanced, Expert TOPO! tpo files MapQuest Link Yahoo Weather Link E-mail this Trailhead to a friend On-line Topo of this Trailhead
208 Updates0 Trails0 Stories0 Photos
Trail Conditions
Prev Page

#183
SART Current Conditions? - I'm thinking about going to SART on 4th of July weekend. Can anybody update the current conditions of the trail. I will be doing my usual route, from Angelus Oaks to South Fork and back. I was there in November and there were several trees blocking the trail. I heard it got worse with all the rains. Also, the rumor is that some of the creeks are pretty deep right now.
As always, any info would be greatly appreciated.
Pilas a 37 year old Racer riding a Scalpel from Irvine
Posted on 06/11/05 Alert moderators of this post
#182
Glass Road to Middle Control - Yes, They are still logging this road. Lots of blowdown and the creeks are running full with runoff.
Talked to a couple of guys that had ridden South Fork Campground to Glass Road. They said it was very good.
Thanks for the DEET guys, it really helped.
Longboard1998 a 44 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Ells ID, Santa Cruz Heckler from O.C
Posted on 05/30/05 Alert moderators of this post
#181
are they still loging the trail - are they still working on this trail or is it now open
fireroadeddy a 47 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Turner Flux from Capo Beach
Posted on 05/11/05 Alert moderators of this post
#180
They're still working... - Don't bother moving the trees out of the way, the USFS is still logging the area. Whatever you might do will surely be un-done by the operations. Better to just wait until they're finished.
Smokey the Bear
Posted on 04/04/05 Alert moderators of this post
#179
Trees Down on SART - Did SART yesterday, 3/20, and found the section of trail west of Glass Road to be very difficult due to dozens of large, downed pine trees blocking the trail. In many places there are multiple trees down all tangled up and it's very tough and time consuming to find a way through or around.

We cleared a few small logs and branches when and where we could, but without a saw you can't do much. If you have a sven saw, throw it in your pack and cut a little bit as you pass through.

The section between Glass Rd and South Fork Campground, aside from a few small trail washouts, is in excellent condition and has weathered the storms pretty well.
Lorax
Posted on 03/21/05 Alert moderators of this post


#178
SART's Closed - I went to ride SART today, and the fire road behind the store is gated off. I talked to two forest rangers, and they said that SART is closed from Morton Peak to Middle Control road due to logging in that area. The rangers said that it will be closed until the end of the year. Also, the loggers are going to be working weekends, so it'll be closed weekends too. The trail is open from Morton Peak to Mentone, and from Middle Control road to Southfork.
Ryan a Cross-Country Rider from Redlands, Ca
Posted on 11/16/04 Alert moderators of this post
#177
Fallen Trees! - A few of us rode the trail on Saturday 11/13. We rode from the post office all the way to South Fork and back. The temperature was in the 40's when we started, around 9. The trail surface was in great condition, a bit moist wich provided great traction.
The only problem was the multiple fallen trees that were blocking the trail. We must have dismounted almost 20 times during the ride (no exageration here). In a couple of sections, we actually had to find an alternative route to walk around the trail, as it was impossible to get over he trees and their branches.
There were some patches of snow as we got closer to South Fork, and the temperature dropped a few degrees (I was thankful for the booties, leg warmers and jacket).
The return from South Fork to the fireroad (Middle Control?)was a blast! That section of the ride is like a playground. Nobody minded the final grind up middle Control back to the cars. We all agreed that it is a very small price to pay for almost 30 miles of pure single track paradise. Overall, a fantastc ride. Fall is a great time to be on a mountain bike.
Get to SART while you still can.
Ride rating: Expert
Ride distance: 32 miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=90% Dirt Road=10%
Pilas a 36 year old Racer riding a Cannondale from Irvine
Posted on 11/14/04 Alert moderators of this post
#176
TICKET for BIKECOP - This is a good time to ride the trails, unfortunately there was
enough white stuff (couldn't be snow...) that made it cold and
sluggish in s few spots. Did see some cool bear tracks up
around Barton Flats turn off. Lots of good size limbs down
along with a few trees. Probably the last run till spring.
Ride rating: Novice
Singletrack=100%
MBM a 46 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Titus Racer X from Orange County
Posted on 11/06/04 Alert moderators of this post
#175
Trail conditions on Santa Ana - Trails in great shape with no snow left. Best time of the year is now because the leaves are changing.

Bikecop
Posted on 11/05/04 Alert moderators of this post


#174
Current Conditions? - I was thinking about a trip to SART on Veterans Day weekend. Does anybody know the current conditions of the trail? I'm not sure if they had snow over there during the last storm. I'm also aware that there is another one coming this weekend with the projected snow level above 5000. What is the elevation range on this trail?
I have only ridden the trail in the summer time and I was really looking forward to a ride this fall. I know that it is probably going to be cold, but I don't mind it. I just want to make sure the trail is safe and rideable.
As always, any information will be greatly appreciated.
Pilas a 36 year old Racer riding a Cannondale from Irvine
Posted on 11/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#173
Current Conditions? - I was thinking about a trip to SART on Veterans Day weekend. Does anybody know the current conditions of the trail? I'm not sure if they had snow over there during the last storm. I'm also aware that there is another one coming this weekend with the projected snow level above 5000. What is the elevation range on this trail?
I have only ridden the trail in the summer time and I was really looking forward to a ride this fall. I know that it is probably going to be cold, but I don't mind it. I just want to make sure the trail is safe and rideable.
As always, any information will be greatly appreciated.
Pilas a 36 year old Racer riding a Cannondale from Irvine
Posted on 11/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#172
Current Conditions? - I was thinking about a trip to SART on Veterans Day weekend. Does anybody know the current conditions of the trail? I'm not sure if they had snow over there during the last storm. I'm also aware that there is another one coming this weekend with the projected snow level above 5000. What is the elevation range on this trail?
I have only ridden the trail in the summer time and I was really looking forward to a ride this fall. I know that it is probably going to be cold, but I don't mind it. I just want to make sure the trail is safe and rideable.
As always, any information will be greatly appreciated.
Pilas a 36 year old Racer riding a Cannondale from Irvine
Posted on 11/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#171
Current Conditions? - I was thinking about a trip to SART on Veterans Day weekend. Does anybody know the current conditions of the trail? I'm not sure if they had snow over there during the last storm. I'm also aware that there is another one coming this weekend with the projected snow level above 5000. What is the elevation range on this trail?
I have only ridden the trail in the summer time and I was really looking forward to a ride this fall. I know that it is probably going to be cold, but I don't mind it. I just want to make sure the trail is safe and rideable.
As always, any information will be greatly appreciated.
Pilas a 36 year old Racer riding a Cannondale from Irvine
Posted on 11/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#170
Beautiful Day - We started behind the post office off the 38. We rode the loop and climbed back up middle control road. It was an absolutely beautiful day. The temp didn't get higher than the high 60's in the mid afternoon. Trail in good condition as usual. No bugs. See you up there.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 11.5 miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=60% Dirt Road=38% Paved Path=2%
Joshua a 24 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Custom Hardtail from Loma Linda, CA E-mail:this user
Posted on 09/20/04 Alert moderators of this post
#169
tree clearing on SART - rode from south fork campground to the bottom of seven oaks road. deerslayer is right, north and south of glass road there is tree clearing going on and in a few sections the trail has been covered up with loose dirt, debris and sawdust. it's not a major obstacle by any means, although it might slow you down just a bit.

the road work on middle control road mentioned earlier seems to be finishing up. it looks like most of the equipment has been moved to another area. basically it seemed to be more tree clearing work, for the most part.

didn't notice any bugs on the ride today. the weather was excellent, a beautiful clear sky and gusty cold winds.
Ride distance: 12 miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=99% Dirt Road=1%
jeremy beckman a 29 year old Weekend Warrior riding a specialized rockhopper from hemet
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post


#168
Oh yea... - Forgot to mention... Great word "sundry" you get extra credit for that one :)
mtnbikeman a 29 year old riding a Giant NRS from Long Beach
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post
#167
Hey now... - I hate spell check (and I was not complaining about spelling anyway). My posts have a certian stlye I'd say... at least they make sense, unless I'm drunk :)
Ride rating: Beginner
Ride distance: 1billion miles Elevation change: none
Singletrack=1000%
mtnbikeman a 29 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Giant NRS from Long Beach
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post
#166
Ditto for mtnbikeman - Before you swoop down with criticism on others, you should check your own "backyard." Your own post is littered with multiple (and sundry) grammatical, spelling, and punctuation infractions that stand out like a sore thumb. Kind of like: "He who hath no sin shall cast no stones"....or something like that.
El Jefe a 35 year old from Trabuco Canyon E-mail:this user
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post
#165
Thanks but... - Thanks for the trail update but (and I hate too one of THOSE people) can you read what you type before posting? Its very hard to figure out what you are talking about... first you say "bugs and fire crews clearing trees" then you say "no bugs here" and the the last sentance makes no sense what so ever... just made my head hurt trying to figure out what you are talking about and where the downed trees are. I will be there Monday or Tuesday, so I hope there are no bugs clearing trees :)
Peace
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 1million miles Elevation change: loads
Singletrack=100%
mtnbikeman a 29 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Giant NRS from Long Beach
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post
#164
BUGS IN THE FACE - Parked on Glass Rd. Took the forest road to 38 then came back on the SART "top half". Bugs and forest crews clearing trees were heavy on the 4.6 mi climb to 38 but I was rewarded with a great ST ride back down to Glass. Trail great - no bugs up here. Near Glass, again encountered 30' trees being pulled across trail. Kind of torn up. Still, what a was to end the day.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 12 miles Elevation change:
Singletrack=60% Dirt Road=40%
Deerslayer a 58 year old Weekend Warrior riding a FS Marin from Whittier
Posted on 09/19/04 Alert moderators of this post
#163
Road Work Disruption - Tried to ride the trail accross Middle Control Road yesterday. The county is completing some road work and would not let me pass. I asked them why the FS wasn't completing the work and they said that it's a county road. They couldn't (or wouldn't) tell me when they would be finished. Oh, and LOTS of bugs in the heat.
John
Posted on 09/01/04 Alert moderators of this post
#162
SART Is Open - Rode a bit of the SART today with my brother. the sign at the ranger station rated the fire danger as very high but the trails were open. only saw one other rider. the weather was perfect and the section of the trail we rode was clear except for one fallen tree branch that we had to squeeze under. can't wait to ride there again.
jeremy beckman a 29 year old Weekend Warrior riding a specialized rockhopper from hemet
Posted on 08/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#161
Was in Big Bear - yesterday and the forest is still open too bicycles (and cars for that matter)... so ride on, but no smoking and no signal fires and everything will be fine!
Mtnbikerman a 27 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Giant MCM Team from Long Beach
Posted on 08/04/04 Alert moderators of this post
#160
Huh... - The way I read that is that until we reach the "critical" stage, the forest is still open to bicycles. Check out the link on that site to the list of allowable activities?
donkey a 27 year old riding a SS from oc
Posted on 08/03/04 Alert moderators of this post
#159
Thanks, Cheryl - Looks like we're out of luck until fire season's over/
Dale a 23 year old
Posted on 08/03/04 Alert moderators of this post
Next Page
Content-type: text/html