SoCalMtB.com Mountain Bike Trails, Local Bike Shops, Bicycle Clubs
Indian Canyon Road - Acton Trailhead - Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Indian Canyon Road - Acton - Los Angeles County
Drive CA-14 (Antelope Valley Fwy) to either of 2 exits for Soledad Canyon. From the western exit, drive east on Soledad, passing a county work camp. From the eastern exit, drive west past Thousand Trails trailer park. The signed Indian Canyon Road leaves Soledad Canyon Road to the south. Park at a clearing 50 yards up the Indian Canyon Road. Thomas Guide page 4464 B7
Rating , Novice, Intermediate, Advanced TOPO! tpo files MapQuest Link Yahoo Weather Link E-mail this Trailhead to a friend On-line Topo of this Trailhead
8 Updates0 Trails0 Stories0 Photos
Trail Conditions
#8
PCT and Indian Canyon Rd. parallel each other. Indian Canyon is legal for bikes, PCT is not. Both hit Soledad Cyn rd. in the same location and both connect to north fork saddle
Steven Kilbert a 17 year old Weekend Warrior from Canyon Country (Santa Clarita), CA
Posted on 02/03/05 Alert moderators of this post
#7
The trail that terminates in that parking lot off Soledad Cyn Rd. is the Pacific Crest Trail, if I'm not mistaken. Tasty singletrack, but not for bikes. Or motorcycles.
Big Bad Ben a 36 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Raleigh M-20 & an '02 Honda XR250R from Hollywood
Posted on 01/27/05 Alert moderators of this post
#6
Rode fireroad 1/22 from Soledad Canyon Road. In xlnt condition after rains except for few washouts near top to make it interesting. Creek crossings a little wetter than usual but adds to fun. Great climb to Santa Clarita Truck Trail. From top head to North Fork or the "real" Magic Mountain. Fantastic downhill through 3 creek crossings back to Parking lot off Soledad.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 12 miles Elevation change: 2500' climb
Dirt Road=100%
Crank 'n steiner a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fisher Suga' from Valencia
Posted on 01/26/05 Alert moderators of this post
#5
Correction - Thanks to an email from Scott R., I would like to correct that Indian Canyon is actually a forest service fire road, not a trail or a singletrack. This may have caused confusion with the PCT. Sometimes there are 4 wheel drive vehicles on this road as well as bicyclists.

Also beware of a group of poachers that illegally ride PCT. Scott alerted me of this also. Thanks, and sorry for any confusion.
Steve K. a 16 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Mongoose XR-100 from Canyon Country (Santa Clarita), CA E-mail:this user
Posted on 10/30/03 Alert moderators of this post


#4
Forest Adventure Pass Free Days - Our last trip (see below) was on 09/28/03, a National Forest Adventure Pass Free Day. For those of you that don't know this, a free day enables you to park anywhere in Angeles Forest without purchasing a pass from a nearby retailer. Free days are scheduled on the last Saturday of each month, for more info see the Forest Service Website. Just a neat bit of info I thought I'd share.
Steven K. a 16 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Mongoose XR 100 from Canyon Country (Santa Clarita), CA E-mail:this user
Posted on 10/08/03 Alert moderators of this post
#3
Still good - We took a group of just over 25 adventurous Boy Scouts on this trail from my scout Troop #58 in Canyon Country, CA (Santa Clarita area) for our annual bike campout. We began from Magic Mountain and descended Indian Canyon to Soledad Canyon to camp at the Thousand Trails Campground. I am a 16 year old Eagle Scout in the troop and led the ride with my dad (we ride often). The trail is still in good condition with a couple of sandy spots and some sharp turns. I made sure the scouts rode conservatively and kept the trail like they had found it.
With this group, we had no flats and only three cuts and scrapes. We ate lunch in the shady creek area and everything went well. great job scouts!!!
My only word of caution is to watch out for some glass and shotgun casings on the trail- otherwise enjoy an incredible ride.
The next ride the my dad and I will try is the 4N06 trail from Magic Mountain to the Soledad Canyon Tunnel. Does anyone know anything about this trail? It looks like a thrilling, fast downhill.


Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: about 10, then 4 to campground Elevation change: +/- 2500 ft.
Paved Path=10% Truck Trail=90%
Steven K. a 16 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Mongoose XR-100 from Canyon Country (Santa Clarita), CA E-mail:this user
Posted on 10/08/03 Alert moderators of this post


#2
You're missing a good ride... - Why hasn't anyone updated this trail in years? Has anyone else ridden it lately. This trail is rocking and is my favorite so far. The trail conditions are great with a nice pine setting which eventually develops into a shady creek setting ending in some chaparrel. My dad and I rode this on Saturday night for a speedy, thrilling downhill ride. For those who want a moderate workout go up. To ride this ride up about 2500 ft. follow the trailhead instructions below. We did this as a quick downhill from Magic Mountain (the real peak, not the park) and it only took about an hour and fifteen minutes.
To get to Magic Mountain, take Sand Canyon exit south(from Santa Clarita) or Osborne St. exit north (from San Ferando Valley) to Little Tujunga Canyon Rd. At the top of the ridge on Little Tujunga you will see Bear Divide ranger station area. From here take the Santa Clarita Divide rd. (3N17) east 5 miles to Magic Mountain.

From Magic Mountain, we descended on 3N17 to the intersection with Indian Canyon Rd. It is about 1000 ft. down with two climbs of about 200ft. Magic Mountain is a great peak at 4800 ft. and you can see anywhere from the Antelope Valley to Burbank on a clear day. Next take a left on Indian Canyon rd. You will travel through a pine and oak forest setting for about 1.5 miles and you will reach the spring that Tom mentioned below. It was dry when we went by but was interesting to look at. We continued to descend on the speedy, curvy, downhill and eventually reached another spring area after dropping in to Indian Canyon Creek. To the side is a 4WD road, which seemed difficult to climb leads to a shooting range, (but I don't know if it still exists)and a spring rd. Continue through the creek area. It is nice here and there is still some water flowing. We saw a coyote here. After traveling miles in the creek area, take a steep 200ft. ascent to the top of a hill where the trail meets Pacific Crest Trail. (Do not ride this b/c it is closed to bikes). From this ridge you will see Soledad Canyon Rd. via a quick, steep, and curvy descent on the trail.

This trail is maintained regularly and offers a high speed downhill. It is a very quick ride,and is located close to Santa Clarita. Go out and give it a try (up or down). It is way better than other trails in this area such as San Fernando Viper, Condor Peak, Wilson Canyon, May Canyon, Santa Clara Divide, and Fall Canyon/ mt. gleason rides.
Ride rating: Intermediate
Ride distance: 9 miles Elevation change: +/- 2500
Paved Path=5% Truck Trail=95%
Steven K. a 16 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Mongoose XR-100 from Canyon Country (Santa Clarita), CA E-mail:this user
Posted on 09/24/03 Alert moderators of this post


#1
Indian Canyon Road - From the parking area, climb 500 ft. to the top of a low ridge. Follow the ridge to the east, then drop 500 ft. to a creek crossing. Continue up the canyon, crossing the creek 2 more times at muddy crossings. Pass a water tank spur road and begin to climb out of the canyon. The road traverses a spur ridge of the Santa Clara Divide, climbing steeply over rocky terrain. Near the top of the ridge, pass another water tank in a grove of fir and oak trees. There is water available year-round in a 'tub' at the base of this tank. This water must be filtered or chemically treated! A short distance later, the Indian Canyon Road intersects with the Santa Clara Divide Road.
Return via the Indian Canyon Road, or ride east on the Santa Clara Divide to Mt. Gleason, or ride west to Sand Canyon/Little Tajunga Road junction.
Dirt Road=100%
Tom Kenney a 29 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Klein Pinnacle from Reseda, CA E-mail:this user URL:Tom's Page
Posted on 09/16/97 Alert moderators of this post
Content-type: text/html