SoCalMtB

  • Claremont Hills Wilderness Park - #ClaremontHillsWildernessPark

    Socal - Los Angeles County - Claremont NickNames: #ClaremontHillsWildernessPark

    Take the 10 fwy into Claremont, get off on Indian Hill Blvd and head north. Take this to Base Line Rd. and turn right, then turn left on Mills Ave. Take Mills to the end and park in the lot. Many options from this trailhead, including Webb Canyon singletrack and Marshall Canyon, both to the west. Get on your bike and explore. Thomas Guide page: 571


    Photos


    • All
    • 131 Updates
    • 0 Reviews
    • 0 Routes
    • 0 Conditions
    • 0 Checking in
    • Last update
    • Random
    • Trail UpdateThis place is crazy with people you have to be extra carful coming down. Because the people walking are not watching out for anyone else. Crazy!

      Posted:01/17/2012

    • Trail UpdateCoyote-After I parked my car I started walking on mills to the trail. I saw a coyote behind the fence just staring at other bikers and myself. Been biking and hiking for 1 yr first Time I see a coyote....
      Ulicin a 34 year old riding a Trek 3500 2010 from Ontario, ca

      Posted:01/11/2012

    • Trail UpdateRode the loop. riding up the Cobal trail to the benches. It was hot down low, but there was a nice breeze blowing up on the plateau. A few people, but not bad. Only saw three or four other riders.
      a 56 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Specialized FSR XC Comp from Alhambra

      Posted:05/15/2010

    • Trail UpdateTrail is cool I was coming out of the canyon & saw one big rattle snake.

      Posted:08/20/2009

    • Trail UpdateSounds The Same-Been riding the wilderness Park for the past few weeks at night due to the insane crowds of walkers, where are all these people coming from, and the trail is pretty loose. The good thing is if you start at bit after dusk, there are only a few hikers to worry about. However, many of those that are walking after dark have no lights.
      a 45 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Turner XCE

      Posted:08/17/2009

    • Trail UpdateClaremont Hills/Marshall Canyon-I rode Wednesday night as the sun was going down. The trail was quiet (not many riders or hikers) and conditions were dry. As I passed into the final section next to the golf couse (below the tunnel) I ran into a large BROWN BEAR! She was running down the trail...I must have scared her with my lights and bike noise. I high tailed it back up to the road and took pavement back to the car. I've ridden here for years and never seen a bear. What a scarry treat! (it freaked me out a little
      Dougster a 35 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Trek EX8 2009 from Upland, CA

      Posted:05/23/2009

    • Trail UpdateThere open now but just chk there web site. Just a little easier.http: //www.ci.claremont.ca.us/ps.leisurerecreation.cfm?ID=1709

      Posted:10/28/2008

    • Trail UpdateOpen This Weekend??-Yesterday afternoon,Trail was closed due to the fires,,anyone know if open by this weekend??
      Frank a 46 year old Weekend Warrior riding a IronHorse from Montclair

      Posted:10/24/2008

    • Trail UpdateI was up there Monday & there was bear sightings. On the colbalt trail at the 3.5 mark.

      Posted:06/24/2008

    • Trail UpdateGreat Workout!-I've been hiking this trail for workout purposes and I have seen results! The other hikers are very friendly; you pass by and everyone responds with a nod or a hello. (if they're not in the zone)Just don't forget to take some water if your hiking in the hot weather. There is a shade structure about 2.5 miles up. Take your time to catch your breath and back to work!!! Beautiful trail! Recommend it to EVERYONE!

      Posted:06/24/2008

    • Trail UpdateGreat Hike-Went up this A.M. with my son. He is in a little better shape than I. It is about a 1200 foot gain to the summit, I guess it would be considered intermediate. Some bikers, (very congenial) we said hi, they responded. If you are out for a liesurely walk, go along the channel south of this trailhead. My son rides it on his bike and enjoys as well. Just remember, the trail is for everyone and we CAN all get along, just exhibit some courtesy.
      Happy hiking... Happy biking...
      xconguy a 57 year old Weekend Warrior riding a GT from Corona, CA

      Posted:03/01/2008

    • Trail UpdateHikers!-Ride here at least 4 times a week. There are a lot of hikers up there right now. Some curteous...some not..some are just lost! Trail is starting to loosen up in some areas but, overall in very good condition. I would suggest a night ride. Been doing that for the past 3 weeks and been very nice! Except for the occassional hiker that gets stuck with no light...its way better than the day time hours.
      jdmboy909 a 27 year old Weekend Warrior riding a 08 Cannondale Rush from Claremont, CA

      Posted:11/19/2007

    • Trail UpdateHikers-I almost crashed avoiding a hiker walking BACKWARDS while chatting with their group...
      alop a 27 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR

      Posted:09/06/2007

    • Trail UpdateI went Sat the 25th & it was packed. I usually go during the week but the weather was good & so was the view of girls.

      Posted:08/27/2007

    • Trail UpdateDo You Really Want To Ride Fast?-Hikers have the right of way on this trail over bikes, they always have and they always will....
      If you really want to ride FAST downhill here, you need to ride it late at night time. about 9:00-10:00 pm is good. This way there are no hikers (or at least very few)on the trail (yes, I know that there is a sign that says "Park Closes at Dusk" at entrance, but who actually follows the rules anymore?). At night time you actually go faster than at day time anyways because by the time you look for the ruts on the road, you have already past them. Try it, you'll like it the first time. Just get yourself a good quality double headlight for your bike if you don't already have one and have fun like the rest of us. I have been riding this trail and many others for over twenty years.....
      Psychobikr a 46 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Red Porsche Front Suspension from Victorville, CA

      Posted:08/20/2007

    • Trail UpdateWatch Out For Hikers-I went on a gloomy April morning after 10:00 a.m. I was coming down the S turns when a few hikers, distracted by talking to eachother, did not move. I ended up crashing while they continued their conversation. Thanks for the courtesy.
      a 35 year old Weekend Warrior riding a GT Pantera (hardtail) from Rancho Cucamonga

      Posted:04/28/2007

    • Trail UpdateRode Saturday morning, you got to get there early to beat the hikers for a good ride (read sun up), anything later and its a kill-joy. I know hikers have the right of way, but is it too much to ask that they not walk 4 and 5 across with a loose dogs????
      a Die-hard Enthusiast from C-mont, CA

      Posted:04/02/2007

    • Trail UpdateYou have to be very careful & watch out for the hikers. Scary.

      Posted:11/29/2006

    • Trail UpdateClaremont Wilderness Park-I rode this on the way back from the Turkey ride.
      TOOOOO many hikers!!!!!!!!!
      mrbonk a 45 year old Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:11/23/2006

    • Trail UpdateClosed Again - Fire Hazard...-At least I was smart and started out real early this morning... got to do the loop at least and as I was leaving the parking lot noticed park rangers putting up the wood signs blocking the entrance... CLOSED due to severe fire danger. Fire trucks were pulled out & ready to go. Not too many people on the trail this morning, sun was hot and the trail was nice. Great a.m. workout. One final note... did see what appeared to be snake trail marks, I was on the lookout but did not see any. Happy trails!! :)
      DIane a 36 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Trek Fuel 90 WSD from Upland, Ca

      Posted:09/17/2006

    • Trail UpdateTemporarily Closed-Went up to Claremont Hills this morning, and the gate was locked, park closed due to Extreme Fire Danger. Marshall Canyon is still open, or you can go up Mt Baldy road to the Potato Mountain side.
      alop a 26 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR from Fontana

      Posted:08/29/2006

    • Trail UpdatePotato Washout-I just got back from Potato Mountain. About a mile from where the trail separates from Cobal, the road is washed out almost entirely. Use caution if you're heading up that way
      alop a 26 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Trek 820

      Posted:04/09/2006

    • Trail UpdateBeautiful Trail-Great experience. I myself am a hiker and I do some mt. biking. There is no reason why the two can't be a great time for everyone. I see a mt. biker , i get out of the way, no big deal. People with bad attitudes make it not fun for those who are carefree and enjoying themselves. I think you should have respect for both. My friend and I smile and say hi to all. "Cant we all get along" hehehehehe. I say "Hooray" for the outdoorsman & outdoorswoman!!!!
      fluffylove58 a 38 year old Weekend Warrior riding a Giant Sedona DX from San Dimas, CA

      Posted:03/05/2006

    • Trail UpdateMarshall is in good shape. But poison oak sucks! I didn't even notice touching anything and still got it. For the problem with hikers, just don't bomb down the loop trails. Just climb in the park and go down Webb Canyon/Johnson's Pasture where there is hardly ever anyone to dodge.
      Hohnster a 40 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a K2 from Claremont

      Posted:01/19/2006

    • Trail UpdateSame Here-I do the same ride about 3x/week. I've got the same story. Most say "hi," some ignore me, and the others give me dirty looks.
      Innes

      Posted:01/10/2006

    • Trail UpdateWe are going hit the trail in a little bit, it is fine in there not that bad. We start at Mills & drop in to the canyon & come across baseline on the way out. The hikers will say hi or give a dirty look, no big deal.

      Posted:01/10/2006

    • Trail UpdateThe Loop...-Rode the loop Sunday late (after 8am) hoping it would be too hot for the hikers... not so. Anyway as usual it was a great ride. Anyone done Marshall Canyon lately... how's that looking?

      Anyway please keep this site posted with the hiker vs. biker issue... I am very courteous with hikers and I am very surprised with some of the attitudes and comments I have heard from people up there. I would like to know what is happening with that, thank you.
      D a 35 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Trek Fuel 90 WSD from Upland

      Posted:01/10/2006

    • Trail UpdateThat is what I am talking about.

      Posted:10/27/2005

    • Trail UpdateI know several Claremont college students that ride here and as bikers outnumber the hikers, I believe they may be posing a danger to other cyclists. I plan on attending the next City council meeting to see if I can get the trail closed to hikers.
      mark955 a Die-hard Enthusiast riding a modded Trek hardtail

      Posted:10/25/2005

    • Trail UpdateThat sucks I rode today & some walkers were there, they were cool. But I know what you are talking about. I just say hi & keep on going.

      Posted:10/19/2005

    • Trail UpdateI Used-to do this ride 2 or 3 times a week and never had much conflict. In fact only one instance in 4 years. But last spring I had a group of over 8 walkers tell me they were "taking back the trail". I thought they were joking. They weren't. I notified Claremont Parks and they told me they'd look into it. I was later informed that they had met the walkers and had a talk with them. I was told they were going to be at the next city council meeting to see if they could close the trail to bikes. The Parks guy told me he didn't think they stood much of a chance as the bikers outnumber the walkers/hikers by more then 3 to 1. Still it makes for a volitile situation, and I try to let others know we could someday lose our privlidge to ride here. The real owners of the property is the Claremont Colleges, and they help set policy there. So far we are in good graces with them though.The speed limit in the park is 15 mph and I have seen them inforce it before. Yes, you can get a ticket.
      Pain Freak

      Posted:10/19/2005

    • Trail UpdateI know what you're saying. It sucks, especially if you lose all of your momentum, but technically we are supposed to yield to them.
      Innes

      Posted:10/19/2005

    • Trail UpdateAnger Management-I am getting a bit pissed at some of the hikers that hike up the trail 4 and 5 across, and then refuse to move their asses so you are forced into the loose junk whether you are climbing or coming down. Last week it was a bunch of bird/nature watchs that refused to make any path at all. Can't we just all get along, and share the bloody trial. In otherwords move your ass or I'll put knobby marks across it.
      a Cross-Country Rider riding a Specialized FSR

      Posted:10/18/2005

    • Trail UpdateI agree, especially coming down Cobalt Canyon. Breaking 40mph coming down is very easy since they grated the place and hiker are an abundance in CHWP.
      T.K. Castle

      Posted:09/16/2005

    • Trail UpdateDH Speed-Someone always has to complain about something! I ride down at a somewhat fast clip (for a hardtail guy anyway), but am courteous to give plenty of room to hikers and alert if coming from behind. I hope the DH's are doing the same.
      Just my $.02 worth.
      mark955 a Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:09/16/2005

    • Trail UpdateTrail is in good condition on both sides (Burbank and Cobal). Until it gets colder or wetter watch for walkers. Rumor is that walkers are complaining to Claremont PD that DH bikes are going too fast on the loop and if it continues it may be a problem.
      Flatsix a 45 year old

      Posted:09/16/2005

    • Trail UpdateSpiderWebb-SpiderWebb (Webb Canyon single track) is weed city. Rode it over a week ago and I am still itching.
      Hohnster a 40 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a K2 from Claremont, CA

      Posted:07/20/2005

    • Trail UpdateWas open for a bit last week, but then closed. (Burbank/Marshall trail is much more challenging and fun after rain damage!) -but i wouldn't know about riding when closed...
      mark955 a Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:03/16/2005

    • Trail UpdateWent by today still closed 3-15, this is not stoping people I saw people going in, oh well.

      Posted:03/15/2005

    • Trail UpdateWent on sat. to ride Patato Mnt. and it was still closed. Lots of equipment in the parking lot.
      T.K. Castle

      Posted:03/14/2005

    • Trail UpdateIs Mills still shut down? Thanks.

      Posted:03/14/2005

    • Trail UpdateTrail Conditions-The Claremont loop is paved and easy to ride. Marshall Canyon has some muddy areas, but overall, it's in great condition. Started the ride at Claremont Wilderness Trail, dropped down to Marshall Canyon all the way to Baseline. Rode westbound to Towne and then to Thompson Creek Trail. Climbed up Mountain Ave, got back on the trail and completed the loop back to the parking lot on Mills Ave. What a great ride!
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 15 Miles Elevation change: UNK
      Pacman a 40+ year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Giant NRS1 from Pomona

      Posted:01/30/2005

    • Trail UpdateWilderness Park-I was just up there this afternoon and the park is still closed. Lots of dog walkers down at the lower trail. Hopefully it will be up soon!
      Soundguy a 25 year old Weekend Warrior riding a 05 Trek 4500 from La Verne

      Posted:01/15/2005

    • Trail UpdateWeb Cyn-Was upthere this morning and conds where great!!!
      The park was closed do to rain but we did not ride in the park.
      Went up the paved road to the tower [that is one heck of a climb] then over to Web.
      Someone has made some new lines and there great. Went down the westside trail then cut back over to the jumps.
      all most went over the bars at the log.

      See guys your still have it in you, you really never lose the urge to play in the rain!
      Ride rating: Novice
      Ride distance: 7 miles Elevation change:
      Mr Bonk a 43 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Santa Cruz Bullit from Funtucky Ca

      Posted:12/31/2004

    • Trail UpdateWebCyn /Girl Scout-I will be out there Frday the 31st if anyone wants to ridealong?
      E Mail me
      Mr Bonk

      Posted:12/29/2004

    • Trail UpdateGirl Scout-Tried to find what Mr Bonk called Girl Scout on the 24th. Is it a single track or just the fire road that comes out at the Girl Scout house? Found the fire road, not that fun.
      Hohnster a 39 year old Weekend Warrior riding a K2 from Claremont

      Posted:12/28/2004

    • Trail UpdateCWL / Marshall Canyon...-Rode CWL yesterday to Marshall canyon... wet, muddy, it was awesome! :) B-E-A-utiful day!! :)

      P.S. Any takers on that turkey trot ride on Thanksgiving Morning? I'm thinking Christmas Eve morning, weather permitting of course...
      Diane riding a Trek Fuel90

      Posted:12/12/2004

    • Trail UpdateWEB CYN / GIRL SCOUT-As you are riding down Web Cyn at the second flat area or peak after the short up hill stop and look to the right, there is a single track that is fast and fun!!!. not has tech as the main trail. [I don't know what anyone calls it but it is on the westside]
      Girl Scout is east of Clairaboya, it comes out at the Girl Scout house. it is hard to find but I can show you if you like.
      Ride distance: miles Elevation change:
      Mr Bonk a Die-hard Enthusiast from Funtucky Ca

      Posted:12/06/2004

    • Trail UpdateI ride webb canyon often.
      Never heard of 'westside' or
      'girl scout' trails.
      Where are these?

      Posted:12/06/2004

    • Trail UpdateWEB CYN / GIRL SCOUT-Rode the today before the rain, JT and I went up Colbalt then over to Web Cyn, traction was great and there is some new lines going down. at the drop there are some good jumps.We went up the westside trail then over to Girl Scout. Girl Scout was a little over grown but lots of fun.
      Then fixed the hole in the fence at the bottom.
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 10 miles Elevation change:
      Mr Bonk a 43 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Schwinn SS with Spin wheels from The 909 and proud of it

      Posted:12/05/2004

    • Trail UpdateWed Night Rides-Are the wed night ride going on still at 6:00?

      Posted:11/04/2004

    • Trail UpdateThey never put them back up.

      Posted:09/03/2004

    • Trail UpdateThere Were Signs-Until they burned
      MtnbikeMike a 19 year old Racer riding a Diesel/Fuel/R-650 from La Verne

      Posted:09/03/2004

    • Trail UpdateSingletrack...-I've ridden the single track at the top of Burbank, but only when there are minimal people on the trails. If I see people on it I avoid it otherwise I have not seen any signs saying that it is an illegal trail. Innes, how do you know that it is not legal? Just curious if you know something that I don't know or should know for future reference.

      Posted:09/03/2004

    • Trail UpdateBurbank Singletrack-The short singletrack at the top of Burbank is not legal.
      Innes

      Posted:08/27/2004

    • Trail UpdateI will just stay out until I know thanks.

      Posted:08/26/2004

    • Trail UpdateSingle Track-Don't get caught
      Singletrack=100%

      Posted:08/26/2004

    • Trail UpdateDoes anybody know if it ok to ride the single track up top on Burbank.

      Posted:08/26/2004

    • Trail UpdateCWL/Potato Mtn.-Went up on the 22nd and did Cobal to Potato and got about 1/2 way up Potato and was about 20ft from a buck, a pretty big one at that. He was all by himself I think, he stared at me it seemed like 5 minutes and then took one jump and disappeared down the cliff. For a split second I thought it was going to charge at me, but I froze and kept my ground because I did not want to have to climb that section again! Once is enough! All is well that ends well, happy trails.
      Diane

      Posted:08/24/2004

    • Trail UpdateCWL / Marshall Canyon...-Went up Wednesday after work... crazy winds! I got out of the car and knew I was in for a tough climb. Dirt devils sparking up like crazy... I wished I had on my snowboarding goggles. Anyway once my girlfriend and I got to the top and into Marshall Canyon it was all good... no wind just fun. By the golf course it's starting to get real muddy and wet, watch out for the roots and stay to the left on the downhill. Happy Trails
      Diane

      Posted:08/19/2004

    • Trail UpdateCWL / Potato Mtn...-Went up on the 7th and it was already hot at 8am. Did Potato which was really hot and the soft spots did not make it any easier. Inhaled about a dozen bugs on the way up, but I guess it's protein right? Just a couple of runners, hikers and fellow bikers but other than that it's all to yourself. The downhill on Baldy road is just so cool... I keep getting faster and faster each time. Happy Trails! :)
      Diane a 34 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a TREK Fuel 90 WSD from Glendora

      Posted:08/09/2004

    • Trail UpdateCWL / Potato Mtn.-Just did Potato Mtn. for the first time on Saturday the 31st and it kicked my @$$!! It is a good climb and then we downhilled it down Mt. Baldy Road. Wow you really get screamin' down that road! Anyway we road about 8am and it was almost too hot to do it because your in direct sunlight almost the entire time. If you plan on going up take lots of water! And sunscreen! It's pretty towards the end though and just an overall good ride, good workout.
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 8? Elevation change: ?
      Dirt Road=100%
      D a 34 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a TREK Fuel 90 WSD from Glendora, CA

      Posted:08/02/2004

    • Trail UpdateLooking for other enthusiast to ride with. My name is Mark and I recently moved to the area. If anyone is interested in adding another rider to there group please contact me.

      ">mjb

      Posted:07/06/2004

    • Trail UpdatePotato Mtn-I was up there this morning with Sonny, Sonny Jr, Barry U,Mountain Goat,Ferman,and Closet Roadie.
      Great weather overcast at the start and then sun broke through.I brought my SS for the second ride, we went up to Potato Mtn. this is one MF of a ride on an SS. I would have made it to the saddle with out walking but they did some grading this last week and there are some soft spots.
      other them that it was a great ride and my legs don't hurt!!!
      Ride rating: Advanced
      Ride distance: 8.5miles Elevation change:
      Dirt Road=100%
      Mr Bonk a 42 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Schwinn SS with Spin wheels from Funtucky Ca

      Posted:06/20/2004

    • Trail UpdateNice...-Monday evening ride was nice, no one out hardly! The headwind heading up the south side was a little rough, but do-able. Just did the loop so coming down the north side was good, no people maybe one or two. I guess I came pretty close to hitting a baby rattler... another fellow biker saw as he rode behind me. I thought it was a branch or a twig. Keep an eye out for the snakes I guess! The trail seemed to be graded pretty good; just a couple of soft sections, but for the most part a really great ride!
      D a 33 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a TREK Fuel 90 WSD from Glendora

      Posted:06/16/2004

    • Trail UpdateHey Dawn,-Like I stated earlier we ride these parks (Marshall & Claremont) a lot.If you ever want to ride just let us know and you're more then welcome to come along with us.We have a number of lady riders who come along on our evening rides.You won't be bothered.We usually have rides Tues & Thurs. nights starting around 5:30 to 6 pm.
      Pain Freak riding a Surly Turner from The 909

      Posted:05/03/2004

    • Trail UpdateReply To Carlton-I did go to the Claremont police that same day. I filed an annonymous complaint. I did not file with my name because my address would have posted as well. The guy could have went to the station and saw my name and address. I live by myself and that was too scary for me. Someday I will go back up to that trail. I do miss it! The guy is usually up there around 7 am on Saturdays. I know what he drives and the license plate number (I will never forget that!). So, the Claremont PD know who he is. Apparantely he has had problems with other people, too. I wish some energetic guys would cross his path - maybe then he wouldn't bully the little girls who just want to ride!

      cannondaledawn a Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:04/30/2004

    • Trail UpdateItch And Scratch-Is anybody interested in doing a little trail maintanence on the itch/scratch singletracks? Probably quite illegal, but the last time I was up there trying to ride them, the rut running down the middle of the one to the south was so deep that when i braked and slipped into it, I could stand on the edges with my pedals. Not an enjoyable downhill experience all things considered. And of course, according to the county, these trails dont exist so they will never be maintained. I'm not proposing to make them easy. . . just turn them from small dry creeks back into trails. Any objections from people who have grown attached to their rutted disgustingness? Any volunteers? Drop me an email.
      Ride rating: Expert
      Ride distance: Elevation change: steep
      Singletrack=100%
      Clay a 20 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a AC2 from Claremont

      Posted:04/29/2004

    • Trail UpdateDawn,-You should not put with that shit. You should have called the cops right then. Or at the very least, try to find out what he drives and post it. I know their are plenty of energetic guys that wouldn’t mind crossing his path.
      Carlton a 41 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Specialized S Works M5 hard tail from Walnut

      Posted:04/29/2004

    • Trail UpdateReply To Pain Freak-You are so right about the dogs! I usually ride early in the mornings (around 5:30 or 6) and I have the dog problem then, too! The owners of the dogs give me the same response - "Oh they don't bite!". That is not the point. The point is the dog getting in front of your tire and possibly getting hit. I would think that the owners of the dogs would care a little more about their dogs, but I guess some don't.

      I also had a problem with a guy up on the Web Caynon trail (off Web Canyon Road). He takes 5 dogs up there with him, two on leashes and three off. One of the dogs bit me the first time I encountered him. Fortunately it did not break the skin because I was wearing long pants. I just had a huge bruise. The second time(about 2 weeks later) I saw the guy up there again and I told him I was going to call the police if his dogs bit me again. He got really mad at me and got in my face. He told me I should go back down the trail and go home and that he would be looking for me on the road. Well, that really freaked me out. I am a small girl and this guy was gigantic! Anyways, I have not been back to that trail since it happened in December. Has anyone else had a problem with this guy anywhere else?
      cannondaledawn a Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:04/29/2004

    • Trail UpdateI Know-how you feel.I was there Sunday morning also.I counted at least three groups of 7 or more.Most are friendly and say excuse me and then move over a little for you can get around.This little loop is part of my training ride and it's right in the backyard of my work so it's not unusual for me to hit it 3 or 4 times in a week.But this place is more heavily traveled then anything I've been on around this area (San Gabriels included)I always hook the two parks together Marshall/Claremont, but lately I've almost had to go at a walking pace even on the downhill due to the traffic.I've wrote them (the city) and called to ask if there is any plans for any future trails to be built and there is a most definite NO, from them.I see less people at the city parks,but it is so conveinant that I grin and bear it.

      My biggest problem is the amount of people who will not leash their dogs.This is unsafe for all parties concerned.The dogs don't know any better and have a tendency to dart about,usually under your wheel amoung other places.And the people who say Fluffy doesn't bite as the little dust mop is chewing on your ankle really test my paitence.Why do these dog owners think that the part about leashes doesn't apply to them,but the part of going 15 mph is a valid rule?
      I usually try to ride at lunch or in the heat of the day or just when I know others will not be inclined to be there.We all have to share.
      Pain Freak riding a Surly Turner from The 909

      Posted:04/27/2004

    • Trail UpdateMaybe-it's just you they don't like.

      ;-)

      Seriously, do your part, and don't worry about how it's taken. Doing the right thing must sometimes be its own reward.

      At least you haven't given them anything to complain about, beyond your existence as a mountain biker.
      DeRanger

      Posted:04/27/2004

    • Trail UpdateHikers-I come to stop & they still just stand there. And just dont move & throw there dirty look.

      Posted:04/27/2004

    • Trail UpdatePerhaps-that's because it's mountain bikers that are expected to yield the trail to hikers, not the other way around.

      Practice good trail courtesy, and you will have trails to ride. Don't, and you won't.
      DeRanger

      Posted:04/27/2004

    • Trail UpdateHikers-The crazy thing is they dont move, there will be a whole crowd of hikers (4-6) & they just look at you.

      Posted:04/26/2004

    • Trail UpdateThe Red Socks Are Coming-Rode the loop Sunday morning and could not believe the number of hikers on the trail. While I know hikers have the same right to use the trail, I just wish they wouldn't hike up and down 3-5 abreast forcing you into the loose junk. Have fun and look out for the walking walls.
      a Weekend Warrior riding a K2 Zed 5 from Claremont

      Posted:04/26/2004

    • Trail UpdateCrowds At Mills Is Crazy-I usually ride during the week but the weekend is crazy.

      Posted:04/24/2004

    • Trail UpdateCrowds At Mills Is Crazy-I usually ride during the week but the weekend is crazy.

      Posted:04/24/2004

    • Trail UpdateWhat Ever Dude,-?

      Posted:03/20/2004

    • Trail UpdateNo Smoking Rules Apply Here!-You know how when your riding your bike and you catch a sent of something that smells really, really good it kind of makes that hike up the hill worth it? Yeah well today some freakin idiot was smoking a cigar walking his dog up the fire road. I wanted to kick his @$$, not that there is anything else to burn up there, but for just being smelly and disgusting... plus isn't it illegal to be smoking on that trail? What a jerk!
      NO SMOKING!

      Posted:03/20/2004

    • Trail UpdateOpen-The wilderness park is open!
      Innes

      Posted:03/11/2004

    • Trail UpdateClaremont Hills Wilderness Park-Does anyone know if they've reopened the park? Their website states that it is closed.....


      http://www.ci.claremont.ca.us/city_services/community_services/wilderness/

      Thanks!
      Mike a 51 year old Die-hard Enthusiast

      Posted:03/05/2004

    • Trail UpdateThanks For The 411...-I seriously hope they fix it up in the spring, but I also hope they don't close it down to us "bikers" in order to do so. I miss my steeps!!

      Posted:03/01/2004

    • Trail UpdateI Sent-an email to the parks dept of Claremont and recommended that they consult with an experienced trail building organization as it appeared to me that the grading that was being done was going to cause a lot of damage when the rains did come.I'm by no means a trail building expert,but I do know a few things about trail building and maintenance and what I'd seen here was going against everything I've read and learned.The park was opened, of which I'm grateful, but with the way the road was graded I think it'll cause them to be closed a lot longer then if they'd consulted a group in the know.Here's the response I received:

      Mr. Miller:

      In response to your inquiry regarding the trails in the Claremont Hills
      Wilderness Park, the only trail that is in the park is the Los Angeles
      County Fire Department road that traverses Cobal and Burbank Canyons. This
      road is maintained by the Fire Department for the primary purpose of
      providing access to the hillsides areas for fire and other emergency
      vehicles. It also doubles a the park's public trail. The road was recently
      graded to allow the park to be reopened following the Christmas Day rains
      and a full scale repair is planned for the spring.

      The Burbank-Cobal loop is the only trail available to the public for use by
      hikers, cyclists and equestrian riders. There are no other authorized
      single-track or other off-road trails in the park, and the City has no plans
      to construct any in the foreseeable future. If the time comes that the City
      does decide to add additional trails, we will consult all of the available
      resources to determine the best method for building the trails.

      We thank you for your continued interest in the park. If you have any
      questions. please contact me at (909) 399-5431

      Mark Hodnick
      Facilities & Construction Manager\Deputy Director of Community Services
      City of Claremont
      (909) 399-5431 (phone)
      (909) 626-9985 (fax)
      mhodnick@ci.claremont.ca.us (e-mail)

      Pain Freak from The 909

      Posted:02/24/2004

    • Trail UpdateClosed Again!-City website indicates park is once again closed. Hopefully it will open up sooner than last time.
      Bummed a Cross-Country Rider riding a trainer

      Posted:02/24/2004

    • Trail UpdateBut Mike-Everyone knows you have special priviledges.

      I know, I've been riding here for years and then to have this guy tell me I can't was a shock (at night).He looks like he left soon after though.I've since been back in the evening with no problem and there were a lot of others there too.Does Incycle still do the Monday rides?Where do they start from and what time?Any singlespeeders?
      Pain Freak from The 909

      Posted:02/23/2004

    • Trail UpdateClosed At Night?-Poppy Cock! I use to camp at the RV park and do 7 or 8 laps a night as 24HR training and would pass the park rangers all the time and never had one as much as raise an eyebrow. Also, there is a beginner-Intermediate Incycle shop ride that does the park every monday night. It leaves at 5:30 and they don't get back until 7:30-8:00PM. A good friend of mine leads and he's never said anything to me about having any issues with the rangers.
      My suggestion?.......Ride by, smile and pretend that you don't understand or speak the language..... The rangers are used to it!



      Ride rating: Beginner
      Ride distance: 6 miles over and over Elevation change: 48 feet
      Singletrack=20% Dirt Road=35% Paved Path=20% Truck Trail=25%
      Clancy a 43 year old Racer riding a Intense, K2, K2, K2, Cannodale, Cannondale, Specialize from Norco

      Posted:02/23/2004

    • Trail UpdateClosed At Night?-Poppy Cock! I use to camp at the RV park and do 7 or 8 laps a night as 24HR training and would pass the park rangers all the time and never had one as much as raise an eyebrow. Also, there is a beginner-Intermediate Incycle shop ride that does the park every monday night. It leaves at 5:30 and they don't get back until 7:30-8:00PM. A good friend of mine leads and he's never said anything to me about having any issues with the rangers.
      My suggestion?.......Ride by, smile and pretend that you don't understand or speak the language..... The rangers are used to it!



      Ride rating: Beginner
      Ride distance: 6 miles over and over Elevation change: 48 feet
      Singletrack=20% Dirt Road=35% Paved Path=20% Truck Trail=25%
      Clancy a 43 year old Racer riding a Intense, K2, K2, K2, Cannodale, Cannondale, Specialize from Norco

      Posted:02/23/2004

    • Trail UpdateClosed At Night?-Poppy Cock! I use to camp at the RV park and do 7 or 8 laps a night as 24HR training and would pass the park rangers all the time and never had one as much as raise an eyebrow. Also, there is a beginner-Intermediate Incycle shop ride that does the park every monday night. It leaves at 5:30 and they don't get back until 7:30-8:00PM. A good friend of mine leads and he's never said anything to me about having any issues with the rangers.
      My suggestion?.......Ride by, smile and pretend that you don't understand or speak the language..... The rangers are used to it!



      Ride rating: Beginner
      Ride distance: 6 miles over and over Elevation change: 48 feet
      Singletrack=20% Dirt Road=35% Paved Path=20% Truck Trail=25%
      Clancy a 43 year old Racer riding a Intense, K2, K2, K2, Cannodale, Cannondale, Specialize from Norco

      Posted:02/23/2004

    • Trail UpdatePark Closes At Night-Does the sign indicate a time? Or does it just say "closed at night"? Interesting that the hikers were giving the ranger smack. I guess that since I always get it from others because I'm a mountain biker, it seems strange to hear others piping off at the MAN.
      Whatever, I agree with PF, some of the trail repair doesn't seem to be the best way to do it. Can't wait to get back home and do Potato again.



      Rayzorx a 48 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Stumpjumper Pro Hardtail from West Covina

      Posted:02/19/2004

    • Trail UpdateThere is a sign at the entrance that the park closes at dark but the rangers are usually pretty laid back and it doesn't seem like it is enforced. The gate is almost always open at night but they probably have to say something if they see you in the evening. I was up there Tuesday night too---got there around 530---and saw hikers and bikers but no rangers.

      Glad to here it's not in bad shape---I'll head up there tonight before the next rain!
      a Cross-Country Rider

      Posted:02/19/2004

    • Trail UpdateJust-got back from a noon (lunchtime) ride and even after the rain, it's very easy to ride.Literally no mud at all and only two puddles which are easy avoidable.I did get a warning from the city park ranger here last Tuesday evening.I had done two loops and was getting ready to go up for my third when I rode past the city truck and the ranger called me back and asked me not to, as the park was closing because it was getting dark?I had never even been told the park closed at night.What the heck,I called it a night.I did watch as two hikers approached.I wanted to see if he said anything.He did.The young man complained profusely while the older lady said nothing.Same ol stuff though.I'm a taxpayer and I've lived here a 100 years, you get the picture.I just left then.Overall really good conditions,but I think the rain is going to cause some problems as they are rebuilding the trail all wrong from what I've seen on the trail maintenance crews I've worked with.There are places that are in worse shape now that they've "repaired" them then before.
      Pain Freak from The 909

      Posted:02/19/2004

    • Trail UpdateYES-IT'S OPEN
      INNES

      Posted:02/10/2004

    • Trail UpdateIs the Claremont Park opened?

      Posted:02/09/2004

    • Trail UpdateSunday Afternoon...-Just did the loop starting to the left. Good dirt, some areas still sandy and really rutted, just pay attention to where your going & your good to go. Down hill on the shady side of the mtn. is really tricky, some crevasses that you really need to keep and eye out for, hard to do in the shade. Stay to the left of the trail or else you'll end up in total sand like I did... thought it was kind of a short cut... ended up having to hike out... not bad, just kind of funny!! Anyway all in all it was a beautiful day & a great ride... any one know how the canyon's looking? Haven't done Marshall since the last series of rains...

      Posted:02/09/2004

    • Trail UpdateWinston-Where are you measuring the distance from? I always thought it was 4.5 miles from the parking lot to the top of Potato Hill.

      I did the climb early Sunday morning and only passed 3 other bikers. Were you one of them? Didn't see any bones but I did come up on 5 deer. It's good to see the grass is growing again and wildlife is returning.


      Rayzorx a 48 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Stumpjumper Pro Hardtail from West Covina

      Posted:02/09/2004

    • Trail UpdatePotato Head Hill-DID THE TRAIL UP TO THE TANK. FIRST TIME AT GEOCACHING.
      A NEW WAY OF MOUNTAIN BIKING.I.M HOOKED.SEEN BIG CAT PAW PRINTS, AND A FEW BONES OFF THE TRAIL. HEARD A
      ROCK SLIDE BEHIND ME ON THE WAY DOWN.
      Ride rating: Novice
      Ride distance: 6 MILE Elevation change: 1800
      Dirt Road=ALL%
      WINSTON a 35 year old Weekend Warrior riding a 03 KONA STINKY from LAVERNE

      Posted:02/09/2004

    • Trail UpdateOH MAN! just thought i'd take a look at the posts for this trail. IT'S OPEN!! yahoo! this is not anywhere near a hard trail, but it's the best loop on my way home from work. i've gotten way out of shape since i couldn't ride it 3-4 times a week. this is on my to do list for monday afternoon.
      Ride rating: Novice
      Ride distance: 5 Elevation change: updown
      Dirt Road=100%
      mrNatural a 49 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a redline mono cog from wrightwood ca.

      Posted:02/08/2004

    • Trail UpdateSweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-There is a God!!! I miss my trail!! It's like having my backyard closed off to me!! I am sure there are countless others that feel the same way!! See you up there!! :) Be safe & enjoy!! :)

      Posted:01/31/2004

    • Trail UpdateWilderness Park-Saw that the loop reopened, so I blew off work and went for a ride. The wilderness park looks pretty good. A few sandy bits, but nothing major. Went down through Marshall Canyon. It was a bit wet near the end. Didn't see anyone the whole ride. I guess they were all at work.
      INNES from Rancho Cucamonga

      Posted:01/31/2004

    • Trail UpdateNow Open-From the Claremont website:

      January 28, 2004

      Claremont Hills Wilderness Park
      reopened after flooding

      Claremont, CA ¾ The Claremont Hills Wilderness Park has been reopened now that roads in the Park have been cleared of flood debris and restored to a condition that makes them safe for public use, as well as passable by emergency service vehicles that may need to access the Park.

      The Park has been closed since a rainstorm on December 25 damaged roadways to the point of being a significant safety hazard for users. Certain sections of the roads were also impassable for vehicles, making it impossible for emergency medical service providers to access the park quickly enough to assist anyone who might be injured in the Park.

      Crews contracted by the City worked as quickly as possible to get the roads to the point where the Park could be re-opened. Future Park closures are possible as City staff continues to monitor the Park, especially after future rainstorms, to assess its safety and accessibility.

      Last October's wildfire stripped local hillsides of vegetation, creating the potential for mudslides for the next several years until there is enough regrowth to stabilize the soil.


      MtnbikeMike a 18 year old Racer riding a Diesel/Fuel/R-650 from La Verne

      Posted:01/29/2004

    • Trail UpdateMILLS AVE-I was in the park on Sunday am. I entered the park on the west side. There are no signs at the top.
      The road is a little rough in some spots but I have seen it alot worse over the years. the single tracks are Iche and scrache, the other one is The Gauntlet.
      as the old cattle roads? I don't know what he is talking about. There were a lot of hikers in the park and I was the only biker?
      Ride rating: Novice
      Ride distance: 5 miles Elevation change:
      Dirt Road=100%

      Posted:01/28/2004

    • Trail UpdateHey Mr. 33yr. Old C/C Rider...-Hey where are these so called "cattle roads"?? I'd love to experience some new dirt... come on give me the juicy details as to where I can find these new & exciting adventures!! Uphill's? Downhills? Rocks? We need the scoop!!

      Posted:01/28/2004

    • Trail UpdateClaremont Wilderness Park-Yes it's true the park is closed(from only the top of mills)there are many ways to access the foothills and not all of the area is wilderness park. The only noticable damage to the park was created by the service trucks and or emergency veichles.
      There are now many new SINGLE TRACKS,and old cattle roads that I have been riding that have never been accessable,Ive been riding these foothills since 85' and I've never seen such great oppurtunity as right now.
      a 31 year old Cross-Country Rider riding a single speed from claremont

      Posted:01/27/2004

    • Trail UpdateClairmont Closed Again-IMPORTANT NOTICE from the Clairmont City Website

      The Wilderness Park is CLOSED until further notice due to safety hazards caused by fire and flooding.

      Damaged roadways and unstable hillsides present a significant safety hazard to users. Certain sections of road are impassable for vehicles, making it impossible for emergency medical service providers to access the park quickly enough to assist anyone who might be injured in the Park.

      Major construction efforts are needed to repair/rebuild the roadways. Work to repair the roads and stabilize the hillsides will take place as soon as practical, but it could take some time to complete.

      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Stumpjumper Pro Hardtail from West Covina

      Posted:01/17/2004

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill-Did Potato Hill on Friday night. Kinda creepy because you hear no sounds of animals. You're just sounded by a black forest. The sunset was beautiful though. Watch out for rock slides.
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 4.5 miles Elevation change: 1200 ft.
      Dirt Road=100%
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Stumpjumper Pro Hardtail from West Covina

      Posted:12/22/2003

    • Trail UpdateRE:Open-Cool! Thanks for the update.
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:11/15/2003

    • Trail UpdateAccording to the city website -- http://www.ci.claremont.ca.us/ --open as of Saturday.
      catrunr from La Verne

      Posted:11/14/2003

    • Trail UpdatePark Open Or Closed?-Anyone been riding this area in the last week. I'd like to do Potato this weekend if the park's open.
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:11/13/2003

    • Trail UpdateDid Anyone Notice?-I posted the Marshall Canyon ride last Sunday and now, looking back, I may have been the last one to see the "Canyon" before it disappeared. I was at the two water tanks at 7:30 AM just as the fire was on the ridge to the East. Went up Marshall and over to Mills late yesterday afternoon. "Moonscape." I wonder if the "authorities" at the Claremont Wilderness Area will allow any new trails to be built. I feel sick, thinking about those who lost there homes in that area, but did anyone else notice the opportunities now?
      Flying W a 43 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Specialized Enduro from La Verne

      Posted:10/31/2003

    • Trail UpdateRE: MtnbikeMike-Sorry about that. For some reason this posting facility always seems to return an Apache server error. If you keep retrying the post, sometimes it gets updated once, and sometimes it does it a bizillion times.

      Moderators take note and pass it on to the systems guys.
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/31/2003

    • Trail UpdateToasted-All of the Claremont Hills Wilderness Park is scorched. I was riding up there today and it was not to smokey. There were houses that burned at the bottom, and there were a few spots still smoldering as well. If you go I recommend wearing some glasses the wind seems alot stronger going back up to Marshall and ashes were getting in my eyes.
      Banzai a 18 year old Racer riding a Jamis/Giant from La verne

      Posted:10/29/2003

    • Trail UpdateConfirmed-What the Williams fire missed this last one (Grand Prix) didn't.The place is 100% burned.A lot of homes gone too.I'll be riding up there after the smoke clears to give a better review.
      Pain Freak a I dont want to talk about it year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Renrut 02/Surly 1X1 (Mighty Whitey) from Fontana

      Posted:10/28/2003

    • Trail UpdateNM-old news-wrong subject
      MtnbikeMike a 18 year old Racer riding a Trek Fuel 90 Disc/Scattante R-650 from La Verne

      Posted:10/27/2003

    • Trail UpdateCHWP-Some info about the CHWP from the govenor's press release.


      MtnbikeMike a 18 year old Racer riding a Trek Fuel 90 Disc/Scattante R-650 from La Verne URL: Here's The linky

      Posted:10/27/2003

    • Trail UpdateClosed Indefinitely-Per the city website the wilderness park has significant damage and will be closed indefinitely. The lower part took a hit as far as I know. I heard the house overlooking the bottom of the trail is gone and the fire station at Mills almost got wiped out. Potato mountain burned too.
      a Cross-Country Rider

      Posted:10/27/2003

    • Trail UpdateMaybe Not....-From my vantage point it looks fairly good.Lots of green on the lower part.The Williams fire earlier had burned all that could burn above it, so we kind of had one huge firebreak there.It could have hit it from the sides though.A friend of mine went up Marshall and says it's a hit and miss affair with some burned and other parts left alone.No ryhme or reason though.The residents there are breathing a lot easier today though.
      Pain Freak a I dont want to talk about it year old Cross-Country Rider riding a Renrut 02/Surly 1X1 (Mighty Whitey) from Fontana

      Posted:10/27/2003

    • Trail UpdateNot Good-I haven't been up there, but I'm pretty sure this whole park is toasted.
      MtnbikeMike a 18 year old Racer riding a Trek Fuel 90 Disc/Scattante R-650 from La Verne

      Posted:10/27/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Mtn.-It is in good shape. Tater is loose in a couple of spots near the top. Still rideable though.

      You only gotta ask once...
      MtnbikeMike a 18 year old Racer riding a Trek Fuel 90 Disc from La Verne

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdatePotato Hill?-I going to do Potato this weekend. Anyone been up it lately? How's the trail condition?
      Rayzorx a 48 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Fuji Diamond 3 from West Covina

      Posted:10/22/2003

    • Trail UpdateNAME CHANGE-Hey, when did the change the name ???????
      Claremont has plenty of money, the last thing they want is for people to think they have it!!!!!
      Ride rating: Advanced
      old school E-mail: I BELEVE I WILL HAVE ANOTHER BEER.GOV

      Posted:06/28/2003

    • Trail UpdateClaremont Wilderness Center-I ride this area at least once a week. Its a good training ride. Go up to Potato mountain for a good smooth ride since its been recently groomed after the major rains. I've had my car broken into at the trailhead parking lot so be careful.
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 7miles Elevation change:
      Dirt Road=90%
      a Cross-Country Rider riding a Specialized Stmpjmpr Pro

      Posted:06/24/2003

    • Trail UpdateWEB CYN-Rode there yesterday with Henry Sonny Mr You and Robby
      went down Web2 then over to the jumps. great day for a ride.
      The main trail down is loose and rutted. try Web2

      Tommy were where you!!!!!!!!
      There is a jump there I want to do........
      Ride rating: Intermediate
      Ride distance: 8 miles Elevation change:
      Singletrack=75% Dirt Road=25%
      Mr Bonk a 41 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a Santa Cruz Bullitt from Funtucky Ca USA

      Posted:03/31/2003

    • Trail UpdateMILLS AVE AKA WEB CYN-Rode there Monday with Flying W,The Man,and MrU,
      Great ride went up Colbolt then over to Web Cyn.
      Did you know there are 3 diffrent trails on Web????
      Check it out and there are some new jumps at the drop off.
      O yes Flying W did walk down Mr Paul's Mountain.
      Sorry no helacopter ride out this time!!!!
      Ride rating: Expert
      Ride distance: 10 miles Elevation change:
      Singletrack=45% Dirt Road=45% Paved Path=10%
      Mr Bonk a 40 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a To many from Funtucky Ca

      Posted:05/28/2002

    • Trail UpdateWeb Cyn-Dusty what day were you out there?
      Mr Bonk a 40 year old Die-hard Enthusiast riding a To many from Rancho Cucamonga Ca USA

      Posted:12/19/2001

    • Trail UpdateMR. BONK'S NEIGHBORHOOD-First time out this way, and this area has potential. Started on Mills lane with trials expert El Santo putting on his traveling parking lot show. We didn't know our way around as our route should show. We went up Burbank, up Johnson, up Palmer, down Palmer, up to Potato mtn., back down to the parking lot, up Burbank, down Johnson, down Webb s.t., back to the lot on Thompson Creek.

      There is lots of side action in this park, some open, some not. Saw some fresh bike tracks going off a 9 footer at the top of Burbank, nice work by THAT guy. Webb is very fun, rutted, a few small drops. This place could keep you pretty busy, especially if you extend over to Marshall and whatnot. Always nice to check some new dirt.

      Good luck to you.
      Dusty Bottoms

      Posted:12/17/2001


SoCalMtB.com ~ your local mountain bike site since 1996.

© SoCalMtB.com - Terms Of Use - Site Map
Web Services by WebWorks2

Facebook |Twitter |Twitter